Incontrovertible Evidence that Facebook Never Actually Deletes Your Photos

This might not be a surprise to you, but Facebook NEVER deletes the photos you delete.

Today I will present you with incontrovertible evidence of this claim.

First, take a look at the photo below. Here are the 3 important things you need to know about it:

  • I took this photo in Atlanta on December 14, 2015.
  • I uploaded the Facebook shortly after I took it.
  • I then deleted the photo after a short period after (days or weeks after uploading, not months)
Original Image, which was uploaded to Facebook and then deleted in 2015

Moreover, about a month ago (before the Facebook data scandal) I deleted everything on Facebook (photos, friends, posts, etc). I didn’t outright delete the account because I want to keep it as a placeholder for my username URL.

So… this photo should be completely gone from my Facebook, right?

But, it’s not. Facebook are still using this photo in 2 different places, and I cannot delete them in any way (you can easily identify the photo because of the kids standing next to the water streams and the flags):

I know that these photos are somewhat blurred and obscured, but I’ve been seeing this photo for about 2 years after deleting it and it bothers me that there is no way for me to delete them. To me, this serves as 100% factual evidence that Facebook are retaining some of your photos even after you delete them.

This is not breaking news, I’m sure, but to see it right in front of your eyes is not only bothersome, but very brazen on Facebook’s part.